January 2, 2017 – Yes, I am starting a blog …the Calliope Hummingbird Project

A new year, now we must do more than consider who we are and what we will do. We must actually decide and take action. We have concluded 2016, for many of us it ended unexpectedly with the US Presidential election of a misogynist, racist, con man, liar who took advantage of tactics similar to Hitler to win an election. I choose not to wait to see what he will do, he has done enough already for me to be fully on guard and mindful that he can do a lot of damage to our country. I will be ready to call out his actions and call on our elected officials and media to respond.

Beyond the national politics, we must also focus on local & state politics. We must realize that elections on state & local levels, at a minimum, matter even more than a presidential election. State legislatures and governors make decisions every day that set regulations and policies that govern many things from the schools our youth attend to simple things like the streets we drive on. It matters. And, Congressional elections happen every two years, not every four years. Politics is local. We need good candidates at every level. Find out who your state representative is, who your state senator is, know who your judges are, your state attorney general, and of course Governor and other state-wide positions. Local & district judgeship court officers make decisions that impact ordinary people every day … think about Trayvon Martin’s case and the Charleston, SC church shooting case. Judges impacted those court cases. Many of those positions are elected directly and others are appointed by elected officials. Voters do make a difference.

So, what I am doing with a blog. I want to talk about what matters.

  • Yep, Politics is one of my subjects but it’s not the only one.
  • Health & fitness matter a lot for our quality of life. I will post thoughts and information on those topics. We all want to live well and live long.
  • Community and giving back matters a lot to me. My parents were actively involved in the community when I was growing up and their blood runs through my vein so my daughters and son have seen me do the same so I will blog about that.
  • My academic training was accounting / finance and while I haven’t been stellar in this area myself, I know folks who are so I will have guest bloggers who will give insights on these topics. Financial literacy will keep us all strong.
  • The other topic that I expect to blog on is Spirituality / Connectedness. I believe deeply in our oneness and that there is something bigger than all of us. I personally spend less time narrowing my view on one religion or another because I believe that is a personal choice so I leave that up to each person. I do choose to believe in God and our Connectedness as one in this universe where we each have the capacity to reach our best self. So, I may blog on various aspects of spirituality and connectedness.

Why the name “Calliope Hummingbird Project?” My mother’s favorite symbol was a hummingbird because it illustrated soaring despite experts saying it shouldn’t be able to fly. “Because of its speed, the hummingbird is known as a messenger and stopper of time. It is also a symbol of love, joy, and beauty. The hummingbird is also able to fly backwards, teaching us that we can look back on our past. But this bird also teaches that we must not dwell on our past; we need to move forward. When the hummingbird hovers over flowers while drinking nectar, we learn that we should savor each moment, and appreciate the things we love.” I often like the butterfly so I sometimes use it in addition to references to the hummingbird.

My mother grew up in New Orleans in public housing called the Calliope Projects. Coincidentally, I found out there is a calliope hummingbird and it is the smallest bird in North America north of Mexico. Tiny but tough, these birds are the smallest long-distance avian migrant in the world, spending winters in Mexico and a few small pockets of the southern U.S. So, it makes me to smile to name this blog the Calliope Hummingbird Project.

I may often relate similarities of hummingbirds, butterflies and other things in nature to what is happening in the areas I mentioned above that I will blog about. Just maybe they can remind us of the beauty in each moment to help strengthen us for life. I expect weekly updates to the blog, possibly several times a week. It’s free for now but quite honestly, we’ll see how it goes and whether a nominal subscription / fee might eventually be requested (maybe $1 to $2 per week, I’m not trying to bankrupt anyone but hope to stay above water in my retirement years). Your ideas and thoughts are welcome. Send them to calliopehummingbird29@gmail.com

Thanks for checking out the blog. Happy new year!

Janine

Leave a Reply

